Cyril Ramaphosa Has Announced The New South African Cabinet


Cyril Ramaphosa Has Announced The New South African Cabinet
Cyril Ramaphosa Has Announced The New South African Cabinet

On Sunday night, President Cyril Ramaphosa, newly re-elected after the ANC lost its outright majority, revealed his new Cabinet, which includes members of the Democratic Alliance (DA) and various other political parties. These parties have agreed to join the Government of National Unity.

Despite a last-minute effort by Julius Malema’s Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) to join the Government of National Unity—on the condition that it excludes the DA and Freedom Front Plus—Ramaphosa reached an agreement with DA leader John Steenhuisen. This deal grants the DA leadership of six ministries and six deputy ministries.

Ramaphosa announced that Paul Mashatile will serve as deputy president, while DA leader John Steenhuisen has been appointed Minister of Agriculture.

Ramaphosa emphasized that the formation of this Government of National Unity is unprecedented in the country's democratic history.

"We have had to carefully plan the formation of the new government to serve the national interest, reflect the election results, and leverage the strengths of each party," Ramaphosa said.

He stressed the need to address both the country's immediate and long-term needs.

Key roles assigned to the DA include:

- Minister of Basic Education: Siviwe Gwarube

- Minister of Communications: Solly Malatsi

- Minister of Public Works: Dean MacPherson

- Minister of Home Affairs: Leon Schreiber

- Minister of Environmental Affairs: Dion George

Ramaphosa explained that dividing certain portfolios was necessary to ensure adequate focus on critical issues.

He announced the consolidation of the ministries of Electricity and Energy, while establishing a distinct ministry for Mineral and Petroleum Resources.

Additionally, the Ministry of Agriculture will be separated from the Ministry of Land Reform and Rural Development, and the Ministry of Higher Education will be split from the Ministry of Science, Technology, and Innovation.

The Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Development will be separated from the Ministry of Correctional Services, and the Ministry of Public Enterprises will be dissolved.

"During the transition to a new shareholder model, the Presidency will oversee the coordination of the relevant public enterprises," Ramaphosa added.


Left Right

Close Ad
Close Ad


Popular Posts